Books · Reviews

Book Review: Libyrinth by Pearl North

Book Name:  Libyrinth

Author: Pearl North

Premise:  For as long as she can remember, Haly has heard the voices of the books.  Growing up in the Libyrinth, a library so large that people sometimes get lost in it and never come out, she has been surrounded by words and stories her entire life.  When the Libyrinth’s mortal enemies, the illiterate Singers, discover her unique ability, they are determined to use her to destroy her home forever.  In order to save all that she loves, Haly must learn to think and dream like a Singer. Premise from Anne Harris’s Webpage. 

Reason I read: I picked this book up because of the fact that main character has the ability to hear the books. I think that would the most awesome thing it the world, except that I am already easily distracted so hearing the books would make me more so…

What I like about the book: I like the idea, and how it was presented but there were a few aspects I didn’t. But I liked Haly alright, even though at sometimes I wanted to reach out and shake her. Claudia was a great side character. Nod had to be my number one character. I just loved them, and wish I could have had more information on them.  It was very straight forward and fast paced. It didn’t feel like a month had passed in the book. I enjoy the use of the classic quotes throughout the book.

What I disliked: I am not a big fan of the double POV’s although it was great to hear about Claudia adventure. There were a few areas that could have been explored more and that would have increased my pleasure of my reading experience. One last thing that bothered me during the book was the romance that wasn’t. One of the character’s struggle with a same sex crush but there are only three references to this and it drops. I think it could have had a bit more to make it a bit more believable.

Rating:  5 out of 5. Mainly because it a quick read that many book lovers will enjoy.

Got something to say?

