Books · Reviews

Book Review: Cast In Shadow

Book Name: Cast in Shadows (Elantra 1)
Author: Michelle Sagara

Premise: Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered — and all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin.… Since then, she’s learned to read, she’s learned to fight and she’s become one of the vaunted Hawks who patrol and police the City of Elantra. Alongside the winged Aerians and the immortal Barrani, she’s made a place for herself, far from the mean streets of her birth. But children are once again dying, and a dark and familiar pattern is emerging. Kaylin is ordered back into Nightshade with a partner she knows she can’t trust, a Dragon lord for a companion and a device to contain her powers — powers that no other human has. Her task is simple — find the killer, stop the murders…and survive the attentions of those who claim to be her allies! Premise taken from Amazon.

What I liked about the book: Kaylin was a very endearing mess with a soft touch with children, and always full of tenacious determination. She’s a haunted girl, sure, but also a fearless Hawk. There are moments when she’s not mature, smart or patient; Just about every moment, actually. But Sagara uses Kaylin’s flaws to help make her believable. She tends towards insubordination, is physically incapable of being on time for anything, and she isn’t the most educated kid in class by far, but she has a gift for grasping connections and seeing things. She’s streetwise, and loyal. She is a strong female character. I kept reading more into the relationship between Kaylin, Severn and Lord Nightshade. I love their interaction but left me wanting more. I love the coexisting tentative partnership of Tiramis, Severn and Kaylin.
The book was well written, descriptive. I was drawn into the world, characters and setting with a vice grip fascination. The writing style was witty, and realistic, which I loved. Even though it was Luna book, it had little to non romance. Although, I kept reading more into the interactions between Kaylin, Severn and Lord Nightshade, then there was.

What I didn’t like about the book: Other then it felt like you just thrown into the world without notice, and not a lot of things that could have been explained were explained. I can’t put my finger on why I was disquieted when I finished. I can’t say if I really liked it or just kind of liked.

Rating: 3 of Five. Because I can’t place why I am in the middle.

Got something to say?

