Books · Reviews

Water So Deep YA Review–Fighting the tide

Title: Water So Deep     Author: Nichole Giles                    Publisher: Jelly Bean Press

Release Date: February 2, 2015

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/water-so-deep-Nichole-Giles-ebook/dp/B00R9V955E?tag=iaarnaw-20

Author Website: http://www.nicholegiles.blogspot.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24224363-water-so-deep

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from EbooksforReview!

Type of Book: YA Fantasy

Book Summary: 17th year old Emma Harris is drowning on dry land. No one knows what’s happening to her and she would like to keep her evolution from human to mermaid a secret but the truth is getting harder and harder to hide…

I wanted to love this unconditionally because mermaids. There are so few mermaid novels that have made me love it unconditionally, and I thought this one just might be ‘the one’. But although I enjoyed reading it, it wasn’t the book for me. But I would recommend if I was asked about it. The premise sounded good, but the execution left me wanting. Giles writes a pretty prose that is well written and easy to read. She is very good at balancing the angst scenes with the fluff scenes. I was intrigued at the first page but lost interested during the middle. The ending was good; but left me with many unanswered questions. It is possible that Giles is writing a sequel, which I would read just to see what happens.  Water so Deep is the first mermaid book where the character fights against being a changeling or magical creature.

Emma is a changeling fighting her fate of transforming into a mermaid. I really liked Emma’s fight against fate for her family. That it wasn’t for a boy but for her adoptive family. She has a special needs brother, Keith, which she worries about and takes care of. Throughout the book, he gets into some trouble. But I love that Giles wrote about the issue of people taking advantage of people with special needs. Emma is a strong character that has gone through some tough times but is handling it as well as a teen girl can. Her internal struggle of telling her adoptive parents of their pending loss pulled at my heartstrings.

My favorite character had to be James Phelps, the new kid in town. I though he was very well written. James came across as a good hard working kid, and with a protective streak a mile wide. He had realistic reactions to whatever happened in front of him. He was your typical boy. When he found out Emma’s secrets he had good reactions. The only scene that made me want to smack him was when he left Emma with Merrick.

My least favorite character was Merrick. Emma was promised to him as a prize for guarding the gate to Atlantis. I didn’t like him because he came across as a flat character to be used when some drama was needed. He showed up every few chapters had a scene and then was gone for a few more chapters. He was your typical jealous Type A character that served only the purpose of riling up the main character. His 180 at the end felt contrived and could have been left out. I just don’t think he had enough scene time to merit a personality change. I’m glad that Emma didn’t believe his persona change either! Maybe in the sequel I will get more of a feel for him and see if his character can change my mind about him.

All in All, I give this book 3 pearl out of five pearls. I liked the book well enough, but only liked a couple characters and the well balanced angst vs fluff. I will admit that this is one of the better mermaid books that I have read.  It is the first book I have read where the boy is left waiting for the girl. Try it for yourself and let me know what you think. This book releases on 2/2/15. Preorder on Amazon for kindle edition ($2.99us) or check the publisher site for other stores to obtain this book! Water so deep is 294 pages, and it took me approximately six hours.

Got something to say?

