Books · Netgalley

Monsters in the dark—Paranormal Keepers by Jen Nauman

Image from Goodreads
Image from Goodreads

Title: Paranormal Keepers         

Author: Jen Nauman      

Publisher:  Phantom Owl Press

Publish Date:  March 11, 2014                     

Type:  YA Paranormal

Think you wanna get this book(you know you do) Check out Amazon, or wanna find more reviews before buying this book Check out GoodReads or even check out Author page, the author herself for other books and updates on when the next one comes out!

This an ‘arc” copy eBook supplied by Netgalley. I am not receiving any monetary benefit or any kickback for this review. I received this arc for an honest review.

I was not 100% on board with this book. I had to choke it down because of the main character. Many of characters seemed to switch personalities like a light switch. I think that the way the character just put up with abuse that heaped on her. There seemed to be an unfair and unusual amount of bullying and mean girl cliché. There was too many times in the book that I wanted Gibb’s slap the character upside the head.

The premise was a good idea, I just didn’t care for it. I did like the slow build romance. After the main characters (Harper) experienced a world shattering event: the death of her high school boyfriend. She tries to figure out how it happened. It’s during this that she meets some people that changes what she sees in the world. It did have some interesting paranormal characters that was unique.

I just felt that the story dragged, and I wasn’t interested in any of it. I think if my expectation from the description had panned out through the chapters I would of liked this book more. I give it two out of 5 mothman. If you enjoy high school dram with a side of supernatural, try this book. This book has 396 pages, and took me 4 hours to trudge through it.

2 thoughts on “Monsters in the dark—Paranormal Keepers by Jen Nauman

    1. Yes, It seemed like many character switch personalities and the way they acted towards each other multiple times. I definitely prefer my main characters to be strong or at lease BAMF! every once in a while.

      Liked by 1 person

Got something to say?

