Netgalley

Pass–Review of Soul Crossed by Lisa Gail Green

soulcrossedTitle:   Soul Crossed (Of Angels and Demons)

Author: Lisa Gail Green

Publisher: Full Fathom Five      Published:  Feb 25, 2015                

Type: Teen & YA, Fantasy

Stars: 2


Description:

One Demon.

One Angel.

One Soul.

Josh lived a reckless, selfish life, so upon his death, escaping the eternal torments of Hell by assuming the role of a powerful, soul-corrupting demon is an easy choice. His first soul assignment doesn’t seem too hard: the mortal Camden is already obsessed with weapons, pain, and torture. If only Josh wasn’t distracted by Cam’s beautiful friend, Grace.

Grace never expected to die violently at age sixteen, but now she’s an Angel, responsible for saving a soul. She can already see past Camden’s earthly flaws, so the job should be be easy. If only that handsome, playboy Josh would stop getting in the way.

It’s forbidden for an Angel to be with a Demon, so if Josh and Grace stop resisting each other, the results would be disastrous.

And only one can claim Cam’s soul.


Think you wanna get this book(you know you do) Check out Amazon, or wanna find more review before buying this book Check out GoodReads or even check out Author page, the author herself for other books and updates on when the next one comes out!

This an ‘arc” copy eBook supplied by Netgalley. I am not receiving any monetary benefit or any kickback for this review. I received this arc for an honest review. This review is cross-posted on Amazon, Goodreads and given directly to the publisher.

This isn’t’ your typical YA romance. I liked bits of this books, and others I really didn’t like. I have seen that everyone either really dislike this book or really like it. I didn’t. The storyline was interesting but it was very dark and twisted. At least I think it was.

I really how everything tied together in the end. I didn’t see the ending coming. The pacing was alright. There wasn’t a chapter that didn’t have something happening. It did feel like it ended. Which is good, because I don’t see how this storyline could be continued.

The reason that I disliked this book come in twos. One, the insta-love. I hate insta-love. I don’t see the point in it and it really just drive me nuts. But this book had it to the extreme with a touch of forbidden love. Soul Crossed seemed like it had all the clichés for insta-love and forbidden love tossed into a pot and stirred together. The main character Grace is an angel and she falls in love with the other main character who is a demon. Grace was supposed to be on a mission but kept getting distracted by the demon. Josh, the demon opposing her and her love interest, annoyed me. He was a smarmy playboy. He gets turned down by Grace and automatically chooses a random girl to play with to get Grace jealous.

Two. The character they were both trying to sway to their side, made me squick. The so called redeemable character was so off the beaten path that no one foresaw. He has a tragic past and apparently that made him a psycho. He tortures animals and creates items that can harm people. He thought about raping Grace. Personally I don’t think that is redeemable. I understand that he was need to be known as the anti-Christ, but I think it went too far.

I skipped through many scenes, because I couldn’t read them. I was not impressed with this book. 1 star. I had hoped to like it. Interesting premise, but too many insta-love clichés and I can’t condone animal or people torture even if it’s in bookland.

Got something to say?

