Books · Netgalley · Reviews

Humanly Possible–I wish by Elizabeth Langston

Title: I wish

Author: Elizabeth Langston

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Pub Date: November 18, 2014

Type:  YA Fantasy                                Content Rating: Mild

Pages: 312                                             Avid Reader Time: 1 hr

Review Rating: starstarstarstar


What Lacey needs is a miracle. What she gets is a genie with rules.

Lacey Linden is hiding the truth of her life—a depressed mom, a crumbling house, and bills too big to pay. While her high school classmates see a girl with a ready smile and good grades, Lacey spends her evenings seeking ways to save her family. On a get-cash-quick trip to the flea market, Lacey stumbles over a music box that seemingly begs her to take it home. She does, only to find it is inhabited by a gorgeous “genie.” He offers her a month of wishes, one per day, but there’s a catch. Each wish must be humanly possible.

Grant belongs to a league of supernatural beings, dedicated to serving humans in need. After two years of fulfilling the boring wishes of conventional teens, he is one assignment away from promotion to a challenging new role with more daring cases. Yet his month with Lacey is everything that he expects and nothing like he imagines. Lacey and Grant soon discover that the most difficult task of all might be saying goodbye.

Think you want to get this book (you know you do)? Check out Amazon! Want to find more reviews before buying this book? Check out GoodReads or even check out the Author page for other books and updates on when the next one comes out!

This an ‘arc” copy eBook supplied by Netgalley. I am not receiving any monetary benefit or any kickback for this review. I received this arc for an honest review. This review is cross-posted on Amazon, Goodreads and given directly to the publisher.

This was my first genie book. I have to admit I was impressed. Although I wish’s pacing is slow it was very easy to get lost in the 312 pages. I wish is a fantastical tale set in modern day with two sets of point of views. One is Lacey, the ‘master’ and the genie, Grant. Sorry it in this book they are called Benevolent Supernatural beings. It mainly focuses on Lacey’s world and how she sees it. I really enjoyed Grant’s short chapters. They were written like reports to his boss. But they showed the changes he was going through. I wish focuses more on the human aspects then the fantastical.

There were several characters in the book and each one had an impact on Lacey’s life. Her very hard life. She tries very hard to hide that the fact that her family is barely getting by. Her mom lost in depression leaving Lacey to raise her little brother and take care of the house. It shows this very clearly in the first few pages of the book, when Lacey comes home to find the electric money and food money gone. She takes some items to pawn to get some of it back, and that is where she finds a musical box that happens to contain B.S.B Grant.

Grant has rules. No magic can be used in a wish. It must be humanly possible. But you get 30 wishes, 1 per day. First of all, I think I would put that genie back.  I fully expect my genie, who obvious has magic to use magic to grant my wishes… I mean if it was humanly possible then I’d do it myself. I really felt like Lacey felt the same way at first. She made a plan and Grant did do good work. Not to mention, as he learned about lacey and her situation, he had a lot of character growth.

There isn’t much action. It’s mainly mushy exposition. I did like the slow burn romances. I just couldn’t decide if I like Eli or Grant better. I wish was very unique and not something I had read before. It took painful issues sprinkled some magic and tossed them into the light. I think that talking about this kind of issues is good. The main thing that irritated me is that it ends with a not really conclusion. But it fits because both characters grew from the experience and was ready to take on more experiences.

Overall, I wish is a good book. My very first genie book and it wasn’t a letdown. There is a strong empathic connection with these characters. Langston writes magnificent character detail and development. I give 4 out of 5 stars. The not conclusion kind of makes me sad. Go forth Pretties and read this book!!

Comment below if you have read this or know of any other Genie books!!!

Got something to say?

