Books

Drown me in tears–The Glass Mermaid by Poppy Lawless

theglassmermaidTitle: The Glass Mermaid

Author: Poppy Lawless

Publisher: Love Potion Books

Publish Date: Janurary 1, 2015

Type: Romance, Novella

Pages: 77                     Avid Reader Time: 30 Mins

Rating: starstarstarstarstar


Kate: I’m the last mermaid. I’m back on shores of Lake Erie, but the cold waters are silent. There is nothing here for me but ghosts and the beach glass that litters the rocky shore. Long ago, I lived below the waves. Now, I am the sole survivor, and at long last, my mermaid glamour is leaving me.
Cooper: I’m dying. It’s not a question, it’s a fact. The cancer is eating me alive. They told me I have six months to live, maybe less. I came home, back to Chancellor on Lake Erie, to die. The sunsets are vivid there, and I will relish every one.
All life is fragile as glass. What would you sacrifice to save the one you love?

Think you want to get this book (you know you do)? Check out Amazon! Want to find more reviews before buying this book? Check out GoodReads or even check out the Author page for other books and updates on when the next one comes out!

This was like a piece of cotton candy. The Glass Mermaid is sweet and has a romance that melts in your heart. It is a 77-page romance novella told in dual point of view. It is a clean read with only insinuation towards adult themes. It also heavily hints at character death. The Glass Mermaid is set in modern day in a small town that borders Lake Erie.

“Mermaids’ tears carry the spark of life. I must have lost more than five-hundred years of life in the tears I shed for my people.”

Kate is the last Mermaid with a very tragic past, living on borrowed time. Cooper is an marine biologist turned artist that is harboring a devastating secret and time is running out. Every morning, they fall more in love with each other. The characterization and slow reveal of their past is just divine. The pace is steady enough to keep one interested but slow enough to build tension. It is slow burn that leaves you with tears.

“In his palm was a piece of red beach glass. The awkward cut made it looke like a jagged heart.”

I adore these type of novellas. It’s like a sugar treat for a bad day. It instantly lifts you and keeps you smiling. Lawless has a talent of making you fall in love with the characters in less than 30 pages. Which is good considering the length of this novella. The ending just made me sigh and cry at the same time.

“There was no love for me on land. There never had been, and I’d been a fool to let myself dream.”

With just enough world building to keep your attention, the focus of the novella is obviously the romance. This gem, about love even in the worst of times and that happy ever after do come true, gets a 5 out of 5 stars. Seriously, go read it!!

About the Falling in Deep Collection:

From mermaids to sirens, Miami to Athens, dark paranormal romance to contemporary stories with steam, the fifteen award-winning and best-selling authors of the Falling In Deep Collection are bringing you mermaid tales like you’ve never seen before.

The Falling in Deep Collection:
Scales by Pauline Creeden
Ink: A Mermaid Romance by Melanie Karsak
Of Ocean and Ash by A. R. Draeger
Deep Breath by J. M. Miller
At the Heart of the Deep by Carrie Wells
The Mermaid’s Den by Ella Malone
The Water is Sweeter by Eli Constant
The Glass Mermaid by Poppy Lawless
An Officer & a Mermaid by Blaire Edens
How to be a Mermaid by Erin Hayes
Cold Water Bridegroom by B. Brumley
A Beyond the Sea Prequel by Emily Goodwin
Immersed by Katie Hayoz
Siren’s Kiss by Margo Bond Collins
To Each His Own by Anna Albergucci

Got something to say?

