Books · Reviews

Heart- Breaker –Memories of Ash Review

Title: Memories of Ash (The Sunbolt Chronicles #2)

Author: Intisar Khanani

Publisher: Purple Monkey Press

Publish Date: May 30, 2016

Pages: 359                           Avid Reader Time: 3.30 hours

Content Rating: Mild        Book Rating: starstarstarstarstar


In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the past have a tendency to come calling, and an isolated mountain fastness can offer only so much shelter. When the High Council of Mages summons Brigit Stormwind to stand trial for treason, Hitomi knows her mentor won’t return—not with Arch Mage Blackflame behind the charges.

Armed only with her magic and her wits, Hitomi vows to free her mentor from unjust imprisonment. She must traverse spell-cursed lands and barren deserts, facing powerful ancient enchantments and navigating bitter enmities, as she races to reach the High Council. There, she reunites with old friends, planning a rescue equal parts magic and trickery.

If she succeeds, Hitomi will be hunted the rest of her life. If she fails, she’ll face the ultimate punishment: enslavement to the High Council, her magic slowly drained until she dies.

Think you want to get this book (you know you do)? Check out Amazon or B&N! Want to find more reviews before buying this book? Check out GoodReads or even check out the Author page for other books and updates on when the next one comes out!

This an ‘arc” copy eBook supplied by the author. I am not receiving any monetary benefit or any kickback for this review. I received this arc for an honest review. This review is cross-posted on Amazon, Goodreads and given directly to the publisher.

“To use memories as a basis for a spell…is uncommon.:”

So you think you want a fantasy novel that is not full of the weak characters, or a plot that dies once a P.L.I (possible love interest) show their face. How about a novel where the female isn’t pushed aside by a strong male character? Then look no farther!! Because Memories of Ash is all that and more.

“I was never unwilling to leave, but I do thank you for your hospitality.”

Memories of Ash was like being hit by brick…in the face. Trust me, the wait for this book after Sunbolt was well worth it. Khanani has done it again, stole my heart with her immersive story line and strong female lead. Her detail writing and flow kept me hooked from page one to the end.

“…Not everything can rise from ash again..”

MOA stay in the same vein of bottom up world building. It slowly gives world details such as geography, politics and the world’s rich history. In this book, we get to be let in on the darker side of the Mages. The plot is creative and suspenseful. I love when Hitomi starts her plans, because her talents and ideals show through. Most of the twists or outcomes were not discernable at a glance. You really had to pay attention to all of the details and hints in the story.

“I’m glad the mage is dead, deeply grateful I no longer have to fear him, and yet it sickens me,”

The first person narration really sets the mood and helps understand Hitomi and her motivations. Khanani has a way of making every character seem important and dimensional. We get to meet so many new characters and be reunited with our Sunbolt favorites. I have a major book-crush on Kenta. I like Val and love that he helps Hitomi out, but Kenta is my ultimate fave. Yes, I ship him and Hitomi. But there is no obvious love interest. In fact, none once so ever. Which is why I find MOA and its predecessor Sunbolt to be so unique.

“When you choose a path, you must walk it with courage.”

Hitomi is definitely the ideal female character. She is strong willed, and more than willing to do the right thing. Even when it might not be right for her. She has her weakness, but is able to overcome them. Her moral compass is unerringly straight, unusual for an ex-thief. But we knew that from Sunbolt. Hitomi helps people and risks her life and freedom to prevent loss of life. Even the life of her enemy. I loved how Hitomi mourned the loss of a man in one scene. I believe that scene showed more about her compassion. I love that MOA breaks the mold in Young adult fantasy by giving a main character morals and sticking with them.

“I have already burned, and this pain, this potion, is but an echo of what I chose with my sunbolt…”

Memories of Ash focuses on its characters, their choices and how it shapes the world they live in. I find that fresh and very out of the ordinary. But once again the story ends before I want it to. Now to wait for the next book. 5 out of 5 stars. The fantastic writing and well written characters keeps me hooked long into the night. Intisar Khanani will be my auto-buy authors for a very long time. This book did not disappoint, but left me wanting more. Hitomi’s story has become near and dear to my heart.

4 thoughts on “Heart- Breaker –Memories of Ash Review

Got something to say?

